LibGuides: IP Law: Trade Secrets: Economic Espionage Act

Overview

Sources

Title 18. Crimes and Criminal Procedure. Part 1. Crimes. Chapter 90. Protection of Trade Secrets
Through its KeyCite engine, Westlaw provides the statute's Notes of Decisions, History, Citing References, and Context Analysis. KeyCite is a citator that allows researchers to evaluate the source's relevancy and find similar cases.
more...less...
This section includes:
§ 1832. Theft of trade secrets
§ 1833. Exceptions to prohibitions
§ 1834. Criminal forfeiture
§ 1835. Orders to preserve confidentiality
§ 1836. Civil proceedings
KeyCite Yellow Flag - Negative Treatment§ 1837. Applicability to conduct outside the United States
§ 1838. Construction with other laws
§ 1839. Definitions

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

18 USCS, Pt. I, Ch. 90
Lexis provides the option to "shepardize" a statute. Shepardizing traces the source's history and notes various changes. Shepardizing is especially important for lawyers when citing cases that may have subsequently been overturned or revised in some way.
more...less...
This section includes:
§ 1832. Theft of trade secrets
§ 1833. Exceptions to prohibitions
§ 1834. Criminal forfeiture
§ 1835. Orders to preserve confidentiality
§ 1836. Civil proceedings
KeyCite Yellow Flag - Negative Treatment§ 1837. Applicability to conduct outside the United States
§ 1838. Construction with other laws
§ 1839. Definitions

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 90 — PROTECTION OF TRADE SECRETS
Bloomberg provides full coverage of the "Economic Espionage Act of 1996."
Bloomberg has a service called SMART CODE, which " identifies sections of court opinions that reference a particular code, rule or regulation and provides a ranking of each extract's discussion of the code." --Bloomberg Law.
more...less...
This section includes:
§ 1832. Theft of trade secrets
§ 1833. Exceptions to prohibitions
§ 1834. Criminal forfeiture
§ 1835. Orders to preserve confidentiality
§ 1836. Civil proceedings
KeyCite Yellow Flag - Negative Treatment§ 1837. Applicability to conduct outside the United States
§ 1838. Construction with other laws
§ 1839. Definitions

Legislative History

Legislative History of the Economic Espionage Act of 1996: P.L. 104-294: 110 Stat. 3488: 11 October 1996

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UNITED STATES PUBLIC LAWS 104th Congress - Second Session Convening January 3, 1996
Public Law 104-294.
Legislative History Materials:
Reports: 4
Congressional Record: 35
Presidential Messages 1

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Economic Espionage Act of 1996, 96 CIS PL 104294
USCS- Public Law Legislative History