American Indian Law

The Interior Library provides a full range of professional reference and research services, available to Interior employees in both the Washington, DC, area and nationwide. The collections include Departmental publications, as well as related books, journals, electronic databases and other resources that support the mission of the Department, its agencies, and bureaus.

HeinOnline's collection of legal materials related to the Interior Board of Indian Appeals from 1972-2023.

Use the following steps to find relevant pages:
Area of Law By Topic > Native American Law > Cases and Court Rules > Department of Interior Board of Indian Appeals Decisions.

Proclamations, trade agreement letters, and other documents released by the Executive Office of the President of the United States. Coverage begins with 1936.

Indian Claims Insight is a one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.

Indian Claims Insight allows researchers to search Indian claims content in unprecedented ways including keyword, full text, docket number, and more. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission (a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes), and related statutes and congressional publications.

HeinOnline's collection of decisions from the Indian Claims Commission from 1948 to 1978.

Under the terms of the original Indian Claims Commission Act there were three Commissioners and a period of ten years in which to complete the work. It became obvious however, from the size and complexity of the cases, that ten years was insufficient. The Commission was extended for five-year periods in 1957 and 1962, and in 1967 it was extended a third time and enlarged to five members. Subsequently the staff was increased in size to accommodate the increased workload. The Commission was extended to April 10, 1977 and on that date the remaining cases were transferred to the United States Court of Claims.

The National Indian Law Library provides a Treaty research guide providing guidance on how to locate treaties both online and in print.

Treaties:
-Quinault Treaty, 1856
-Treaty of Medicine Creek, 1854
-Treaty of Neah Bay, 1855
-Treaty Point Elliot, 1855
-Treaty with Walla Walla, 1855
-Treaty with the Yakima, 1855

Westlaw's collection of treaties:
The treaty between the United States and the Klmath and Yahooskin Band of Snake Indians.

The treaty between the United States of America and Eastern Bands of Shoshonee Indians.

The Treaty between the United States and different Tribes of Sioux Indians.

The Treaty between the United States of America and the Eastern Band of Shoshonees and the Bannack Tribe of Indians.

Amendatory Treaty to the Treaty of June 9, 1863, between the United States of America and the Nez Perce Tribe of Indians.

Treaty between the United States of America and the Tabeguache, Muache, Capote, Weeminuche, Yampa, Grand River, and Uintah Bands of Ute Indians.

Treaty between the United States of America and the Tribe of Sac and Fox Indians of the Mississippi.

Treaty between the United States of America and the Senecas, Mixed Senecas and Shawnees, Quapaws, Confederated Peorias, Kaskaskias, Weas, and Piankeshaws, Ottawas of Blanchards Fork and Roche de Boeuf, and certain Wyandottes.

Treaty between the United States of America and the Kiowa and Comanche Tribes of Indians.

Treaty between the United States of America and the Kiowa, Comanche, and Apache Tribes of Indians.

Native American People Treaties, Ratified, and Unratified searchable database.

HeinOnline's collection of Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law. Documents relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties with Various Tribes of Indians 1801-69

Available online

Full text available online

Online access available

Available via ILL

"This book examines the treaties that promised self-government, financial assistance, cultural protections, and land to the more than 565 tribes of North America (including Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada). Prior to contact with Europeans and, later, Americans, American Indian treaties assumed unique dimensions, often involving lengthy ceremonial meetings during which gifts were exchanged. Europeans and Americans would irrevocably alter the ways in which treaties were negotiated: for example, treaties no longer constituted oral agreements but rather written documents, though both parties generally lacked understanding of the other's culture. The political consequences of treaty negotiations continue to define the legal status of the more than 565 federally recognized tribes today. These and other aspects of treaty-making will be explored in this single-volume work, which serves to fill a gap in the study of both American history and Native American history. The history of treaty making covers a wide historical swath dating from the earliest treaty in 1788 to latest one negotiated in 1917. Despite the end of formal treaties largely by the end of the 19th century, Native relations with the federal government continued on with the move to reservations and later formal land allotment under the Dawes Act of 1887." -- Publisher's descriptio

Available at Chastek 3rd Floor Stacks KF8203 1972b

Available at Foley General Collection F99.N74 K55 2012

The story of a dramatic confrontation between Native Americans and white settlers in the newly created Washington Territory from 1853 to 1857. Washington's first governor, Isaac Ingalls Stevens, had one goal: to persuade (peacefully if possible) the Indians of the Puget Sound region to turn over their ancestral lands to the federal government. In return, they were to be consigned to reservations unsuitable for hunting, fishing, or grazing--their traditional means of sustaining life. The result was an outbreak of violence and rebellion. Social historian Richard Kluger recounts the impact of Stevens's program on the Nisqually tribe. His hasty treaty negotiations with the Indians, marked by deceit, threat, and misrepresentation, inflamed his opponents. Chief Leschi, resolved to save more than a few patches of his people's lush homelands, unwittingly turned his tribe--and himself most of all--into victims of the governor's relentless wrath. The conflict would have echoes far into the future.--From publisher description.

Available via ILL

Available via ILL

Available at Chastek 3rd Floor Stacks KF8202 2014


"Nation to Nation explores the promises, diplomacy, and betrayals involved in treaties and treaty making between the United States government and Native nations. One side sought to own the riches of North America and the other struggled to hold on to traditional homelands and ways of life. The book reveals how the ideas of honor, fair dealings, good faith, rule of law, and peaceful relations between nations have been tested and challenged in historical and modern times. The book consistently demonstrates how and why centuries-old treaties remain living, relevant documents for both Natives and non-Natives in the 21st century"--Provided by publisher
"Approximately 368 treaties were negotiated and signed by U.S. commissioners and tribal leaders (and subsequently approved by the U.S. Senate) from 1777 to 1868. These treaties enshrine promises the U.S. government made to Indian people and recognize tribes as nations--a fact that distinguishes tribal citizens from other Americans, and supports contemporary Native assertions of tribal sovereignty and self-determination. Treaties are legally binding and still in effect. Beginning in the 1960s, Native activists invoked America's growing commitment to social justice to restore broken treaties. Today, the reassertion of treaty rights and tribal self-determination is evident in renewed tribal political, economic, and cultural strength, as well as in reinvigorated nation-to-nation relations with the United States"--Provided by publisher

Available at Chastek 3rd Floor Stacks KF8228.F5 A5 1974

Available via ILL

Available at Chestek 3rd Floor Stacks KF8202 1999

We maintain government-to-government relationships with Indian tribes, and facilitate support for tribal people and tribal governments. We promote safe and quality living environments, strong communities, self sufficient and individual rights, while enhancing protection of the lives, prosperity and well being of American Indians and Alaska Natives.