American Indian Law

Westlaw's Native American Law portal. Includes sources and guides for tribal cases, codes, regulations, secondary sources, and sources specifically for federal issues.

Native American Law portal on Lexis+ provides sources for specific tribes, cases, statutes and legislation, administrative materials, secondary materials

Seattle University School of Law provides a detailed guide of resources focusing on American Indian estate planning.

Since 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Native American tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation. NARF has successfully asserted and defended the most important rights of Indians and tribes in hundreds of major cases, and has achieved significant results in such critical areas as tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, natural resource protection, voting rights, and Indian education.

Find information about and resources for Native Americans and Alaska Native entities.

The Tribal Leaders Directory provides contact information for each federally recognized tribe. The electronic, map based, interactive directory also provides information about each BIA region and agency that provides services to a specific tribe. Additionally, the directory provides contact information for Indian Affairs leadership.

NCAI, a non-profit organization, advocates for a bright future for generations to come by taking the lead to gain consensus on a constructive and promising vision for Indian Country. The organization’s policy issues and initiatives are driven by the consensus of our diverse membership, which consists of American Indian and Alaska Native tribal governments, tribal citizens, individuals, and Native and non-Native organizations.

The Governor’s Office of Indian Affairs is pleased to provide you with this on-line edition of the Washington State Tribal Directory.

Available at Foley 1st Floor Reference JK930.W38

A directory of Tribal Courts in Washington State with current contact information.

Available at Chastek 2nd Floor Reference Collection KF8224.C6 S39 2011

REL Northwest is working across the region to increase awareness of effective strategies and programs for serving American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) students.

My Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities.

National Congress of American Indians Demographics page.

Digitized copies of North American Indian constitutions and other legal materials from the Law Library of Congress collection, as well as links to tribal websites and primary source materials found on the Web. Available "regions" are the United States, Alaska, Canada, Mexico, and North America. Map on the web page for the Indigenous law portal : United States also provides link to digitized primary legal materials for the Kingdom of Hawaii. Access is also provided to the Library of Congress classification schedules Class KIA-KIX, Law of Indigenous Peoples in the Americas, and to Class KVJ, Law of the Kingdom of Hawaii (to 1900).

The purpose of this guide is to support the academic goals of the Native American Studies Program at Gonzaga University. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources.

This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.

When you are seeking multiple Native/Indigenous perspectives about a topic, these resources are good places to start.

Researchers can find information relating to American Indians and Alaska Natives from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s at National Archives locations throughout the country. The National Archives preserves and makes available documents created by federal agencies in the course of their daily business.

The Bureau of Indian Affairs Northwest Region website provides information regarding the bureau's services and employees along with other general information.

This guide is arranged geographically by state and thereunder contains a listing of tribes and bands living within that state’s borders. Under each entry for a tribe or band is a list of the BIA offices which had a jurisdictional relationship with that tribe, and for which the National Archives holds records.

This guide is arranged geographically by state and thereunder contains a listing of tribes and bands living within that state’s borders. Under each entry for a tribe or band is a list of the BIA offices that had a jurisdictional relationship with that tribe, and for which the National Archives holds records.