Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical and Archived Washington Statutory Codes

Historical Codes


Statutes of the Territory of Washington, 1855 (commonly called the Code of 1854).

  • Print: Foley, 3rd floor Special Collections
  • HeinOnline: Session Laws Library
  • LLMC Digital

Code of Washington Containing All Acts of a General Nature, Revised and Amended by the Legislative Assembly of the Territory of Washington, 1881 (commonly called the Code of 1881).  Also published as Vol. 5 of Laws of Washington: A Publication of the Session Laws of Washington Territory, 1854-88. 5 vols.

  • Print: Kelley Reading Room, first floor
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Complete Index to the Code of Washington and to the Session Laws Enacted by the Territorial Legislature: Sessions of 1881, 1883, 1885, and 1887, 1888.

  • Print: Kelley Reading Room, first floor
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

General Statutes and Codes of the State of Washington, compiled and annotated by William Lair Hill, 1891. 2 vols. (commonly called Hill's Code).

  • Print: 3rd floor
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Real Property Statutes of Washington Territory, from 1843 to 1889, by T.O. Abbott, 1892.

  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

The Code of Procedure and Penal Code of the State of Washington, compiled and annotated by Herbert B. Huntley, 1893 (commonly called Huntley's Code).

  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

The Revised Statutes and Codes of the State of Washington, compiled, annotated and published by E.D. McLaughlin et al., 1896 (commonly called McLaughlin's Code). Supplement published in 1897.

  • Print: 3rd floor

Ballinger's Annotated Codes and Statutes of Washington, by Hon. Richard A. Ballinger, 1897. 2 vols. (commonly called Ballinger's Code). Mahan's Supplement published in 1903 (vol. 3).

  • Print: 3rd floor
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Pierce's Code: A Compilation of All the Laws in Force in the State of Washington, compiled by Frank Pierce, 1902 (commonly called Pierce's Code). Subsequently published in 1905 and 1912 (with a supplement published in 1913).

  • Print: 2nd floor, Microfiche
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive (1905 and 1912 editions)

Remington & Ballinger's Annotated Codes and Statutes of Washington, by Hon. Arthur Remington and Hon., Richard A. Ballinger, 1910. 2 vols. (commonly called Remington & Ballinger's Annotated Codes). Supplement published in 1914 (vol. 3).

  • Print: 3rd floor
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Remington's Codes and Statutes of Washington, by Hon. Arthur Remington, 1916. 2 vols. (commonly called Remington's 1915 Code).

  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Pierce's Code, State of Washington. Cyclopedic Arrangement, Annoted by Frank Pierce, 1919. 2 vols. (commonly called Pierce's Code). Republished in 1921, 1923, 1926, 1929, 1933, 1935, 1937, 1939, and 1943 with various supplements and cumulative supplements over the years through 1945.

  • Print: 3rd floor

Remington's Compiled Statutes of Washington, Annotated, by Arthur Remington, 1922. 3 vols. (commonly called Remington's Compiled Statutes). Supplements published in 1923 and 1927.

  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Remington's Revised Statutes of Washington, Annotated, by Arthur Remington, 1932. 12 vols. (commonly called Remington's Revised Statues). Supplements published in 1941, 1943, 1945, 1947 and 1949.

  • Print: 3rd floor
  • HeinOnline: State Statutes: A Historical Archive

Note: Access to the HeinOnline database is restricted to in-library use only.

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility