Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign and International Legal Research

Treaties and International Agreements


Black's Law Dictionary (10th Edition) defines 'Treaty' as "An agreement formally signed, ratified, or adhered to between two countries or sovereigns; an international agreement concluded between two or more states in written form and governed by international law."

A treaty may be bilateral (between two parties) or multilateral (between multiple parties).  Treaties may also be referred to by other names such as: international conventions or agreements, covenants, final acts, charters, memorandums of understandings, protocols, pacts, accords, and constitutions for international organizations. 

Locating Treaty Texts

Full Text Sources - United States

United States State Department Treaty Affairs

Links to treaty texts and information through the U.S. State Department.

Library Print and Database Resources

Statutes at Large, 2nd Floor KF50 .U5

Treaties were printed in the Statutes at Large until about 1950.  The Statutes at Large are available in print in the library as well as on LexisAdvance and Westlaw.

 

Treaties and Other International Agreement of the United States 1776-1949 3rd Floor KZ236 1968.A5

This resource, often referenced as "Bevans," is also available on HeinOnline.

U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library - HeinOnline

 

Subscription Databases

LexisAdvance

Treaty resources on Lexis include U.S. Treaties in Force and U.S. Treaties on LEXIS among others. 

Westlaw

Department of State resources on Westlaw including United States Treaties in Force and other international agreements.

 

United Nations & Multilateral Treaties and Indexes

United Nations Treaty Collection

Search for treaties in the United Nations Treaty Collection online.

Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General 3rd Floor KZ171 .M86 (1981 - 2009), Currently updated online in the United Nations Treaty Collection

League of Nations Treaty Series (1920-1946) 3rd Floor KZ170.5 .T74

Council of Europe Treaties - Online 

Organization of American States Treaties - Online

Treaty Indexes

Online

Multilateral Treaties for which the United States is Depositary - Department of State

 

Library Print Collection

Treaties in Force 2nd Floor Reference KZ235 .T74 2017

Kavass' Guide to the United States Treaties in Force 2nd Floor Reference KZ235 .G85 2009

United States Treaty Index 2nd Floor Reference KZ235 .U58

Current Treaty Index 3rd Floor KZ235 .C87

World Treaty Index 2nd Floor Reference KZ173 .R64

Index to Multilateral Treaties 2nd Floor Reference KZ118 .H35

 

Recent or Pending Treaties

Congress.gov treaty documents

A Library of Congress database where you can search treaty documents (as well as other legislation) for the current Congress as well as past documents going back to the 94th Congress. 

United States Senate Treaties

Lists treaties received and approved by the Senate during the current Congress.

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility