Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign and International Legal Research

World Legal Systems


Free Online

World Legal Systems

From the University of Ottowa, this site provides an interactive map that allows users to explore countries and their legal systems. 

Guide to Law Online - Law Library of Congress

Provides links to resources related to the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of countries around the world.  Some websites linked here may not be available in English

CIA World Factbook

Describes countries and provides statistics on a wide range of categories such as government, economy, and people.

Library Databases (available only in the library; GU Community may access off-campus by logging in with their GU ID and password)

Foreign Law Guide

Provides information on both primary and secondary sources in foreign law.

Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia - HeinOnline

A multi-volume set that provides an introduction into world legal systems and government. [Also available in print]

 

Library Print Resources

Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia, Kenneth R. Redden (2nd Floor Reference K530 .M62)

A multi-volume set that provides an introduction into world legal systems and government. [Also available on HeinOnline]

Law and Judicial Systems of Nations, World Jurist Association (3rd Floor K583 .W64 2002)

Describes the legal system of countries around the world.

Constitutions Around the World


Free Online

Constitute

Online project allowing users to read and compare constitutions from around the world.

Law Library of Congress - Guide to Law Online

Provides links to foreign government resources listed by country.

 

Subscription Databases

World Constitutions Illustrated - HeinOnline 

Publication that provides the constitutions for over 100 countries as well as references to additional resources.

Foreign Law Guide

Provides links to primary and secondary sources for countries around the world.

 

Library Print Resources

Constitutions of the Countries of the World, Albert P. Blaustein (2nd Floor Reference K3157.A2 B58) 

Constitutions of the World, Robert L. Maddex (3rd Floor K3165 .M33 2008)

Codes and Cases


Free Online

World Legal Information Institute (World LII)

Provides legal texts from over 100 countries around the world.  Includes codes, cases, treaties, and more. 

Law Library of Congress - Guide to Law Online

Provides links to resources of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of nations around the world.  

Council of Europe - Codices

Includes decisions as well as codes and constitutions.

Council of Europe - Constitutional Courts

Links to constitutional courts of over 100 nations.

Constitutional Court of Armenia - Constitutional Courts

 Links to constitutional courts of nations around the world.

 

Library Print Resources

International Law Reports3rd Floor (Vol. 1 - 101 only) KZ199 .I58

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility