LibGuides: IP Law: Copyright: Practice materials in print

Understanding Copyright Law

Understanding copyright law
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF2994 .L43 2019
Leaffer, Marshall A., 1943- author.
2019; Seventh edition.
more...less...
The seventh edition of Understanding Copyright is a major revision of this classic student treatise. In addition to including the latest case law developments, this edition incorporates the Music Modernization Act of 2018. The seventh edition covers all aspects of the MMA, a dazzling legislative overhaul of the musical copyright, which, among its other provisions, creates a new blanket license for digital deliveries and provides protection to pre-1972 sound recordings. --Publisher's description

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What is a copyright?
Available , 1st Floor Access to Justice Collection ; KF2995 .W52 2022
American Bar Association. Section of Intellectual Property Law, issuing body.; Gillen, Stephen E., 1953- author.; Rein, David (David L.), author.; Stahl, Eric M., author.
2022; Fourth edition.
more...less...
"This monograph covers what a copyright is, what can be copyrighted, ownership of copyright, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, duration of a copyright, statutory formalities of copyright, infringement, fair use, remedies, and criminal offenses." -- publisher's website

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copyright law
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF2994 .G56 2012
Ginsburg, Jane C.; Gorman, Robert A., 1937-
2012
more...less...
This title provides a clear and thorough exploration of the doctrinal and policy issues in American copyright law. In a style accessible to both students and practitioners, it covers every major topic in basic copyright courses: history, formalities, exclusive rights, fair use, civil and criminal enforcement, and federal preemption of state law. The authors also address major new issues that have emerged, including the rules of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act regarding circumvention of technological protections of copyrighted materials, and the principles of secondary liability, both in their basic form and as developed through application of the DMCA to Internet service providers. In addition, attention is given to the important points at which U.S. copyright law intersects with international intellectual property treaties. --Publisher's description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copyright : examples & explanations
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF2995 .M35 2021
McJohn, Stephen M., 1959- author.
2021; Sixth edition.
more...less...
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E& E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E& E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Here’s why you need an E& E to help you study throughout the semester:

Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style.
Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review.
It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.
The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
--Publisher's description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A short and happy guide to copyright
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF2995 .M87 2022
Murray, Michael D., 1965- author.
2022; Second edition.
more...less...
"[This book will help readers] to get up to speed on the biggest issues of copyright law, and the black letter law addressing those issues; [to understand] future clients' rights, potential liabilities, and options and opportunities regarding legal problems in copyright ... ; to provide a vocabulary of legal terms to use when consulting with lawyers, clients, accountants, financial planners, and insurers regarding copyright problems in the creative, entertainment, and scientific fields; [and] to identify existing or potential legal problems in your clients' and your organization's practices. This guide will discuss a variety of areas in which exposure to legal liability or sanctions may present itself as a current or future problem based on [readers'] clients' practices and procedures"-- Provided by publisher.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copyright law in a nutshell
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF2994 .L34 2017
LaFrance, Mary, 1958- author.
2017; Third edition.
more...less...
a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention. --Publisher's description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copyright law in a nutshell
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2994 .L34 2011
LaFrance, Mary, 1958-
©2011; 2nd ed.
more...less...
This text offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention. (Publisher).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The copyright handbook : what every writer needs to know
Available , 1st Floor Access to Justice Collection ; KF2995 .F53 2021
Fishman, Stephen, author.; Nolo (Firm)
2021; 14th edition.
more...less...
If you work with words, you need this book No writer likes to see their hard work or creativity copied by others-or to be accused of copying. Fortunately, The Copyright Handbook provides everything you need to protect yourself. Find information and forms to help you: learn what copyright law protects and doesn't register your work with the Copyright Office deal with infringers, online and off transfer ownership of a copyright get international copyright protection understand the "fair use" rule obtain permission to use copyrighted work, and profit from your copyright.

Practioner Guides

The copyright guide : a friendly handbook to protecting and profiting from copyrights
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2995 .W475 2003
Wilson, Lee, 1951-
©2003; 3rd ed.
more...less...
The definitive handbook for anyone looking to understand and benefit from copyrights in the Information Age! Veteran attorney Lee Wilson engagingly teaches the ins and outs of copyrights in a logical fashion, making a complex subject easy to understand. Now completely updated and expanded to reflect important changes in copyright law and the impact of the Internet on copyrights, this new 3rd edition discusses what can and cannot be protected under current law, how to avoid infringement, what to do if you suspect infringement, how to turn copyrights into income, and more. Plus it includes dozens of real-life case histories, as well as ready-to-use model agreements and sample forms. --Publisher's description

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A practical guide to software licensing for licensees and licensors
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3024.C6 C56 2013
Classen, H. Ward, author.; American Bar Association. Section of Business Law.
2013; Fifth edition.
more...less...
The negotiation and contracting process -- Licensing software -- Terminology of a license grant (§ 3.1) -- Ancillary clauses -- Boilerplate -- Other important issues -- Licensing issues arising from alternative delivery models -- Free and open source software -- Shrink-wrap, click-wrap and browse-wrap licenses -- Applicability of the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) and the principles of law and software contracting -- Maintenance and support (forms C.5 and 6) (§§ 11, 16K) -- Data privacy and security issues arising from software licensing --Confidentiality provisions and trade secret protection -- Escrow agreements -- Representing the global entity -- Bankruptcy issues -- Employee issues -- When problems arise -- Alternative dispute resolution (§§ 29, 30) -- Best practices for contract drafting and successful implementation -- Recommended resource materials.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Henn on copyright law : a practitioner's guide
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2994 .H38 1991
Henn, Harry G.; Henn, Harry G.
1991; 3rd ed.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Copyright law and practice
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2994 .P35 1994
Patry, William F.
©1994
Vol. 1-3
more...less...
This monumental resource gives you complete reference on copyrightability and infringement, ownership and transfer of rights, formalities, jurisdictional issues, remedies, and much more. The author's impressive coverage, analysis, and full-text source materials give you these research
-- currency -- including new analysis of the distribution right, parallel imports, and recent infringement and fair use decisions
-- practical guidance -- insights on all aspects of practice, including workings of the Copyright Office and Copyright Arbitration Royalty Panels
-- international perspective -- integrated analysis plus a full, separate discussion of vital issues
-- circuit-by-circuit coverage -- comprehensive review of infringement cases
-- focus on each exclusive right -- separate, complete coverage of each right and its limitations
-- historical perspective -- thorough background and legislative history of past and present laws
-- exhaustive source materials -- immense appendix volume with text of U.S. and foreign statutes, trade laws and agreements, and much more

publisher's description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Publishing forms and contracts
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3084 .K386 2008
from:1 CD ROM ATTACHED until:1 CD ROM ATTACHED
more...less...
"Each chapter provides introductory text concerning a major area of publishing, and each area is accompanied by related forms and agreements with commentary on their use. Covered are: book publishing, periodical publishing, electronic publishing, litigation and lititgation avoidance, electronic commerce, permissions and subsidiary rights"--Provided by publisher.
Kaufman, Roy S.
©2008

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Permissions, a survival guide : blunt talk about art as intellectual property
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3050 .B54 2006
Bielstein, Susan M.
©2006
more...less...
"If a picture is worth a thousand words, then it's a good bet that at least half of those words relate to the picture's copyright status. Art historians, artists, and anyone who wants to use the images of others will find themselves awash in byzantine legal terms, constantly evolving copyright law, varying interpretations by museums and estates, and despair over the complexity of the whole situation. Here, on a white - not a high - horse, Susan Bielstein offers her decades of experience as an editor working with illustrated books. In doing so, she unsnarls the threads of permissions that have ensnared scholars, critics, and artists for years. Organized as a series of "takes" that range from short sidebars to extended discussions, Permissions, A Survival Guide explores intellectual property law as it pertains to visual imagery."--Jacket.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Author law A to Z : a desktop guide to writers' rights and responsibilities
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3084.Z9 A938 2005
more...less...
"Written by a quartet of savvy, straight-talking author-lawyers--Author Law A to Z is chock-full of helpful how-to advice (organized alphabetically and extensively cross-referenced). Discussions of key concepts and legal issues related to the business of writing and publishing are supplemented with useful tips, author experiences, practical advice, examples, case notes, and more."--Page 4 of cover.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting permission : how to license & clear copyrighted materials, online & off
Available , 1st Floor Access to Justice Collection ; KF3002 .S75 2010
Stim, Richard.
2010; 4th ed.
more...less...
This book is a guide for understanding how to acquire rights to books, films, music and other content. The fourth edition is completely updated and contains a wide collection of practical, real-life FAQs build upon Dear Rich blog questions. Whether creating a web site, an anthology, or materials for a class, artists and educators of every stripe need to copyright. People who plan to use any copyrighted material for their own purposes need to get permission first from the owners of that work. If they do not, they could find themselves face to face with a lawsuit. In this guide the author, an intellectual property lawyer tackles the permissions process, explaining when authorization for the use of copyrighted materials is needed. It shines the light on who to ask for permission, as well as when, and how much, to expect to pay for permission. The book covers: the permissions process, including authorization to use text, photographs, artwork and music, the public domain, copyright research, fair use, academic permissions, the elements of a license and merchandise agreement, the use of a trademark or fictional character, and much more. It covers web site permission, includes agreements for acquiring authorization to use text, photographs, artwork and music. It also provides information for web site owners, such as hyper-linking agreements and Internet research suggestions. It helps readers obtain rights, permissions and clearance, and stay out of legal hot water. All forms for agreements are included as tear-outs and on disk.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The public domain : find and use free content for your website, book, app, music, video, art, and more
Available , 1st Floor Access to Justice Collection ; KF3022 .F575 2020
Fishman, Stephen, author.; Nolo (Firm), publisher.
2020; 9th edition.
more...less...
"Millions of creative works--book, artwork, photos, songs, movies, and more--are available copyright-free in the public domain... [This book] helps you find and identify which creative works are protected by copyright and which are not... The 9th edition is completely updated to include new public domain resources and to cover the latest legal changes to copyright protection of songs, books, photos and other creative works, as well as public domain rules outside the U.S."--Back cover.

Study Aids

Coaching copyright
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2995 .C576 2020
Ellis, Erin L., editor.; Smith, Kevin L. (Kevin Lindsay), 1959- editor.
2020

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Questions & answers. Copyright law : multiple-choice, short-answer, and essay questions and answers
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF2995 .F34 2010
Fagundes, David.; Lind, Robert C., 1953-
c2010

Copyright law symposium

Copyright law symposium
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2994.A2 C6
American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.; Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition.
©1939-©1997
No. 1-41 (1938--1997)

Historical resources

A manual of copyright practice for writers, publishers, and agents.
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2994 .N5 1956
Nicholson, Margaret.
1956; 2d ed.
Copyright handbook
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3030.1 .H44 1984
Heller, James S.; Wiant, Sarah K.; American Association of Law Libraries.
1984
An author's guide to scholarly publishing and the law
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF2995 .H6 1965
Hogan, John C. (John Charles); Cohen, Saul, 1927-
1965