LibGuides: IP Law: Patents: Treatises

Chisum on Patents

Chisum on patents : a treatise on the law of patentability, validity, and infringement
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .C47
Summary holdings:
v. 1-17
Chisum, Donald S., 1944- author.
1978-
more...less...
Chisum on Patents has every legal detail you need to secure and protect a patent claim.

Donald S. Chisum's 58-volume masterwork gives you authoritative analysis of all issues pertaining to patent law, including doctrines, rules and case law relating to patentability, validity and infringement. Whether you're applying for a patent, appealing a patent application denial or litigating patent infringement, Chisum on Patents puts authority on your side. Chisum on Patents is also the most cited patents treatise in law today - cited more than 1000 times by the U.S. federal courts and twice as much as the nearest competitor since it was released in October 1978.

Chisum on Patents includes analysis of the America Invents Act of 2011 and provides cross-references to related sections/chapters within the treaty for quick and easy research. One-stop research saves you time and money and gives you the information you need to answer questions on every topic in patent law:

• What constitutes a patentable invention
• Fundamental requirements of patentability -- originality, novelty, utility and nonobviousness
• Perfecting rights to a patentable invention
• Rules regarding disclosure and submitting claims
• Double patenting
• Rules in priority of invention
• Patent application process -- from filing through examination and appeals
• Restriction requirements and divisional applications
• Continuation applications
• Requirements for obtaining the benefit of a prior patent filing in a foreign country
• Applications for reissue
• Substantive aspects of infringement

Chisum on Patents also helps you draft patent claims quickly and confidently, and saves you time with over 300 pages of guidance on how best to draft patent claims -- including a detailed explanation of patent claim interpretation. Updated five times a year, no other treatise on patent law keeps you as current. Chisum on Patents provides clarifying analysis of the most important recent decisions and how they may affect your claims, with abstracts of all published decisions of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in a topically arranged outline.--Publisher's website

Moy's Walker on Patents

Moy's Walker on Patents
Available through Westlaw
more...less...
FOREWORD
With pride and pleasure, West introduces this fourth edition of Walker on Patents. This new edition will be largely rewritten and reorganized, with new analysis and insights to meet the needs of today's patent practitioner by its author, Professor Carl Moy.
The editor and publisher gratefully acknowledge the many years of fine service provided by Ernest Lipscomb on the Third Edition.
The Third Edition will be replaced by a series of shipments. During the period of transition, readers should continue to consult both editions and should look to the Third Edition for appendices and Federal Circuit case summaries. Mr. Lipscomb has graciously consented to continue his capable updates of pertinent portions of the Third Edition during this transitional period.

Preliminary Materials, Moy's Walker on Patents Preliminary Materials

Harmon on Patents

Harmon on patents : black-letter law and commentary
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .H3465 2007
Harmon, Robert L.
©2007
more...less...
Intellectual property law in general and patent law in particular is beyond question the hottest legal field now and for the foreseeable future. Because of major changes to existing patent law,it is harder to get patents,enforce patents,and file for patents.Practitioners need expert resources now more than ever. Written by the renowned author of Patents and the Federal Circuit, Harmon on Patents:Black-Letter Law and Commentary restates contemporary substantive patent law in a series of black letter rules,with extensive commentary that thoroughly answers any patent law question.This one-of-a-kind treatise combines expert analysis on modern substantive patent law with an historical background, giving perspective to the evolution of today s patent law. Harmon on Patents:Black-Letter Law and Commentary covers virtually every patent law issue,including:Whether the Supreme Court s 2007 KSR decision signals a tougher standard of patentability in effect, a return to the bad old days where subjective subtests of obviousness such as synergism and flash of genius were the standard Whether the Supreme Court s 2006 decision in eBay v. MercExchange foreshadows a decreased likelihood of injunctive relief in patent infringement cases.Whether the Federal Circuit s 2007 en banc Seagate decision, which vitiated the affirmative duty of due care on the part of potential infringers,substantially decreases the likelihood of a finding of willful infringement The impact of the Supreme Court s 2007 decision in Microsoft v. AT&T on the role that foreign activities play in determining patent infringement The treatise s concise,carefully subdivided chapters add an extraordinary value and utility to the book. A neophyte can read through an entire chapter and come away with a good understanding of a broad issue,while the skilled user with a very specific question can go to a pinpointed lettered topic head or a numbered black-letter point,to get a quick answer.Harmon on Patents: Black-Letter Law and Commentary is a remarkable book that captures both the letter of and the spirit of patent law with a passion that can only come from an authority who has dedicated his career to understanding and articulating it. --Publisher

Patent Claim Drafting

Faber on mechanics of patent claim drafting
Faber, Robert C., 1941- author.
2015-; Seventh edition.
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3125.C5 F33 7th ed.
more...less...
More patent applications are rejected because of claim drafting flaws than because of problems with inventions. A trusted working tool for more than two decades, Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting spotlights proven claim drafting practices and techniques that have been firmly established by patent authorities and custom. This lucid, time-saving handbook offers you:

Start-to-finish directions for each type of claim―apparatus or machine, method or process, composition of matter, article of manufacture, and biotechnology.

Extensive discussion of nonart rejections, classic and more recent constructions of means clauses, inherent function of the apparatus doctrine, mental steps and computer programs, product-by-process claims, and claims referring to drawings.

Quotations from litigated claims to help you see which types of limitations and phrases have (and have not) been “judicially approved.”
Real-world examples of dependent claims, Jepson claims, generic and species claims, subcombination claims, and biotechnology.
Numerous tips on how to avoid common claim drafting mistakes.

Definitions and preferred usage of stylized words and phrases in patent law, such as “comprising,” “consisting,” “means for,” “step for,” and “whereby.”

Guidance on how to review claims to eliminate errors and superfluous language.

Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting examines:

Ways of avoiding transition words that can cause unnecessary claim interpretation problems.

Claim terms that are incapable of interpretation and can render claims indefinite and invalid.

Problematic alternative expressions.

Practical issues involved in amending filed claims, claiming numerical ranges and amounts, and disclosing in a specification several alternatives of elements or embodiments of the invention.

Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting provides full coverage of U.S. Supreme Court and other court decisions critical to claim drafting. It is an indispensable guide for patent specialists and other intellectual property attorneys, corporate counsel, and non-specialists who represent inventors, patent officials, and inventors. --Publisher Description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Landis on mechanics of patent claim drafting
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3125.C5 F33 5th ed.
Faber, Robert C., 1941-; Landis, John L.
©2003-; 5th ed.
4th edition is also available 3rd Floor Stacks; KF3125.C5 F33 4th ed.
more...less...
The primary object of this book is to present a simple & direct approach to the mechanics of claim drafting: practical techniques for composing claims to many different types of inventions. Also includes extensive discussion of many case law doctrines relating to nonart rejections, both classic rules & modern trends. --Publisher's description

Overviews of Patent Law

Understanding Patent Law (3rd edition)
Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF3114 .L36 2018
Landers, Amy L., author.
2018; Third edition.
more...less...
The third edition of Understanding Patent Law provides important and comprehensive coverage for a foundational understanding of patent law, including summaries, overviews, and examples to illustrate the application of the most abstract and complex doctrines. This treatise includes clear and concise summaries of the major cases, with straightforward descriptions of the technology at issue.

This edition has been revised to enhance the reader's understanding of all concepts covered in patent courses. Throughout, the book includes discussions of the background policy and historical underpinnings of the primary patent law doctrines to enable an understanding of the reasons that support the doctrine. The work is suitable for developing a working knowledge of the law, as well as for students enrolled in a patent law course. This edition has been fully updated and features:

Coverage of all major patent law topics with all recent U.S. Supreme Court and appellate court cases, including the requirements to obtain a U.S. patent right; post-grant procedures; claim construction methods and procedures; an in-depth treatment of patent infringement, defenses to an infringement suit, and international considerations; and an overview of the legislative, regulatory, and court systems that govern the creation, issuance, and enforcement of the patent right.
Updated treatment that covers the groundbreaking cases issued since the last edition, including the patentable subject matter cases Alice v. CLS Bank, Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Biosig.
Discussion of the U.S. Supreme Court's Impression Products, Inc. v. Lexmark, which shifted the foundation of exhaustion from an intent-based doctrine into a fundamental limitation on the patent right.
A new section on the impact of Gunn v. Minton and T.J. Heartland v. Kraft Foods on patent litigation. Additionally, the remedies chapter adds four new ground-breaking Supreme Court decisions, including Octane Fitness, LLC v. ICON Health & Fitness, Inc. on willfulness relief and Samsung Electronics Co. v. Apple Inc. on monetary damages for design patent infringement. The Court's new standards for assessing the sufficiency of claims from Nautilis v. Biosig is reviewed, as well as the appellate review of the construction of claims in Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. v. Sandoz, Inc.
A review of the Federal Circuit's Williamson v. Citrix Online, which has become critical to understanding claim construction.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crash course on U.S. patent law
Available , 1st Floor Access to Justice Collection ; KF3114.85 .K36 2016
Kane, Arti, author.; American Bar Association. Section of Intellectual Property Law, sponsoring body.
2016
more...less...
This book is written in layman's terms so that not only the expert patent attorney but also the novice inventor can understand. Crash Course on U.S. Patent Law provides concrete examples, including boilerplate language that is grounded in extensive patent experience. Includes information on: introduction to patent law; requirements for patentability: novelty and non-obviousness; 35 U.S.C. §101; claim drafting, prior art, prosecution history search; analysis of provisional applications and patent applications; responses to office actions or amendments; and patentability opinions.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A primer on intellectual property law and patent litigation : understanding and defending your client's patents, trademarks, and copyrights
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3155 .O4 1996
O'Connor, Edward F., 1944-
©1997

Patent wars

Patent Wars: how patents impact our daily lives
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .C68 2018
Cotter, Thomas F., 1961- author.
2018
more...less...
An essential one-volume analysis of the topic, Patent Wars explains why patent laws exist in the first place and how we can make the system better. Patents are ubiquitous in contemporary life. Practically everything we use incorporates one or more patented inventions, and recent years have witnessed epic disputes over such matters as the patenting of human genes, the control of smartphone design and technology, the marketing of patented drugs, and the conduct of "patent trolls" accused of generating revenue from nuisance litigation. But what exactly is a patent? Why do governments grant them? Can patents simultaneously encourage new invention, while limiting monopoly and other abuses? In Patent Wars, Thomas Cotter, one of America's leading patent law scholars, offers an accessible, lively, and up-to-date examination of the current state of patent law, showing how patents affect everything from the food we eat to the cars we drive to the devices that entertain and inform us. Beginning with a general overview of patent law and litigation, the book addresses such issues as the patentability of genes, medical procedures, software, and business methods; the impact of drug patents and international treaties on the price of health care; trolls; and the smartphone wars. Taking into account both the benefits and costs that patents impose on society, Cotter highlights the key issues in current debates and explores what still remains unknown about the effect of patents on innovation.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The patent wars: the battle to own the world's technology
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .W37 1994
Warshofsky, Fred.
©1994
more...less...
From the "Diaper Wars" that pitted Procter & Gamble against Kimberly-Clark to disputes over high-temperature superconductors, veteran technology writer Fred Warshofsky tracks patent litigation's path to becoming one of the most potent financial tools of the 1990s. The stakes are enormous. For example, Honeywell Inc. more than doubled its net income for the third quarter of 1992 despite lower operating revenue by winning some dozen patent infringement suits against Japanese camera makers, including a tidy $96 billion from Minolta. Japanese companies frequently win. In a revealing analysis of the patent wars in Japan, Warshofsky shows how Japanese industries surround basic patents with clusters of patent modifications. In the global winner-take-all battle, this strategy gives them effective control over the licensing and usefulness of the original invention.
The patent game becomes more complicated with the development of each new product and technology. Nowhere is the phenomenon more evident than in software, semiconductors, and biotechnology. Warshofsky delves into each of these highly sophisticated industries. In the software industry, for instance, Warshofsky dissects patent battles such as Apple v. Microsoft and Borland v. Lotus that have made front-page headlines. The Patent Wars is the first book to take an incisive look at this new business offensive and its consequences, including hackers and piracy in cyberspace. As more and more companies deliberately strive to prohibit competition and innovation, this stimulating and highly informative book will become essential reading for people in business and finance, technology-watchers, and policymakers.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Biotechnology

Biotechnology and the patent system : balancing innovation and property rights
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3133.B56 B37 2007
Barfield, Claude E.; Calfee, John E., 1941-
©2007
more...less...
Barfield and Calfee clearly explain arcane issues of patent law and the tremendous effect that they can have on our economy, our technological progress, and our health. As Congress considers sweeping changes to the patent law, this book is a timely evaluation of the strengths and weaknesses of the current system and the risk of overly aggressive reform.

Biotechnology and the Patent System analyzes the role of intellectual property protection in biomedical research, one of America's leading growth industries. Barfield and Calfee explore ways in which patent law fosters future research and venture capital investment; they also evaluate whether the current system could potentially impede genomic research and the development of new treatment and diagnostic tools. With these competing concerns in mind, the authors evaluate proposals currently under discussion in Congress (S 1145 and HR 1908) and how they would affect biotechnological innovation and, in turn, the quality of our health care.

These proposals have created passionate disagreements among affected industries, with technology and software companies pressing for fundamental reforms that would shift the balance of power from patent holders to patent challengers. Biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and manufacturing firms, as well as large research universities and venture capital associations, contend that the reform proposals are too radical and would undercut U.S. international competitiveness and retard innovation.

In just a few decades, the U.S. biotechnology industry has gone from a handful of startups to a major industry with a market capitalization of $400 billion and payroll of over 130,000 people. Yet the industry's growth can't mask a simple fact of life for most biotech companies: it is difficult to make a profit because of the high costs, high risks, and extremely long development times in developing biotechnological therapies and devices. In 2006, the industry as a whole lost $5 billion. --Publisher's description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Biotechnology and the law
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3133.B56 B563 2007
Wellons, Hugh B.
©2007
more...less...
The book is written to help lawyers faced with the challenge of identifying the legal issues and processes that must be faced by their clients in building, marketing, and protecting a biotech business. The contributors are experts in this specialized area and provide thorough, yet accessible, overviews of biotech subspecialties with an eye to practical application. A biotech legal practice involves specialized subject matter and regulatory schemes that, generally, are not part of the business lawyer's repertoire and which can present many hazards for the uninitiated. Because of the expansion in biotech practice beyond the traditional organizations and their representatives, this guide was written to help lawyers find their way through the biotech maze. --publisher's description

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Owning the genome : a moral analysis of DNA patenting
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3133.B56 R47 2004
Resnik, David B.
©2004
more...less...
"DNA patenting has emerged as a hot topic in science policy and bioethics as private companies and government agencies spend billions of dollars on genetic research and development in a race to identify, sequence, and analyze DNA from human, animal, and plant species. David B. Resnik's Owning the Genome explores the ethical, social, philosophical, theological, and policy issues surrounding DNA patenting and develops a comprehensive approach to the topic. Resnik considers arguments for and against DNA patenting and concludes that only a patent on a whole human genome would be inherently immoral, while the morality of other DNA patents depends on their consequences for science, medicine, agriculture, industry, and society. He also stresses the importance of government regulations and policies in order to minimize the harmful effects of patenting while promoting the beneficial ones. Book jacket."--Jacket.

Patent law and software

Software rights : how patent law transformed software development in America
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3133.C65 C65 2019
Con Díaz, Gerardo, author.
2019
more...less...
"This first comprehensive history of software patenting explores how patent law made software development the powerful industry that it is today. Historian Gerardo Con Díaz reveals how patent law has transformed the ways computing firms make, own, and profit from software. He shows that securing patent protection for computer programs has been a central concern among computer developers since the 1950s and traces how patents and copyrights became inseparable from software development in the Internet age"-- Provided by publisher

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Electronic and software patents : law and practice
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3133.C65 E43 2000
Lundberg, Steven W.; Durant, Stephen C.
©2000
more...less...
Twenty-seven contributors provide academically-oriented legal analysis and practical advice on how to draft and prosecute winning patents. Included are case citations, the process of drafting claims to a data structure, and advice on protecting a client's method of doing business. Procedures cover deciding whether to seek patent protection, drafting the application, prosecuting the application, managing patents in business and litigation, and developing areas of law. Appendices feature a patent application checklist, sample software and electronics patents, and a table of cases. --publisher's description

Patent Law History and Development

The genie in the machine : how computer-automated inventing is revolutionizing law and business
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3131 .P58 2009
Plotkin, Robert, 1971-
©2009
more...less...
This book examines the use of computers to automate the process of inventing. The author argues that since software can conceive of and abandon ideas without biases, and with greater speed and range, computers could boost inventive abilities to undreamed of heights. This would enable small teams, or even consumers, to compete with corporations. The author also looks at how this would affect patents.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Invented by law : Alexander Graham Bell and the patent that changed America
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3116 .B43 2015
Beauchamp, Christopher, 1977- author.
2015
more...less...
Beauchamp reconstructs the world of nineteenth-century patent law, replete with inventors, capitalists, and charlatans, where rival claimants and political maneuvering loomed large in the contests that erupted over new technologies. He challenges the popular myth of Bell as the telephone{u2019}s sole inventor, exposing that story{u2019}s origins in the arguments advanced by Bell{u2019}s lawyers. More than anyone else, it was the courts that anointed Bell father of the telephone, granting him a patent monopoly that decisively shaped the American telecommunications industry for a century to come. Beauchamp investigates the sources of Bell{u2019}s legal primacy in the United States, and looks across the Atlantic, to Britain, to consider how another legal system handled the same technology in very different ways.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

American patent law : a business and economic history
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .M463 2022
Merges, Robert P., author.
2022
more...less...
"Students and established scholars of intellectual property law often look for historical context when trying to understand the development and present-day contours of IP rules and systems. American Patent Law supplies this context, offering readers a comprehensive account of the evolution of the US patent system and patent doctrine beginning in 1790. From the technologies for harvesting wood and shoemaking in the earliest periods to computer software and biotechnology of the present, each chapter of the book covers the characteristic technologies of each historical era. The book also describes how businesspeople in each era acquired and enforced patents and used patents as the foundation of various business arrangements. This book is a landmark in the history of technologies, the US patent system, and the way private actors have deployed patents across American history." -- Back cover.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Critiques of Modern Patent Law

Innovation and its discontents : how our broken patent system is endangering innovation and progress, and what to do about it
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3120 .J34 2004
Jaffe, Adam B.; Lerner, Joshua.
©2004
more...less...
"Innovation and its Discontents tells the story of how recent changes in patenting - an institutional process that was created to nurture innovation - have wreaked havoc on innovators, businesses, and economic productivity.
Jaffe and Lerner, who have spent the past two decades studying the patent system, show how legal changes initiated in the 1980s converted the system from a stimulator of innovation to a creator of litigation and uncertainty that threatens the innovation process itself.
The increase in litigation is largely the result of two changes in the patent climate, Jaffe and Lerner contend. First, new laws have made it easier for businesses and inventors to secure patents on products of all kinds, and second, the laws have tilted the table to favor patent holders, no matter how tenuous their claims"--Jacket.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rethinking patent law
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .F38 2012
Feldman, Robin.
2012
more...less...
Scientific and technological innovations are forcing patent law into the spotlight and revealing its many glaring inadequacies. Take, for example, the patent case that almost shut down the BlackBerry, or the growing phenomenon of patent trolling, in which patents are acquired for the sole purpose of entrapping companies whose products relate to them. And patents on genes have everyone up in arms -- and our courts confused. Robin Feldman explains why patents are causing so much trouble. The problem lies in our assumption that patents set clear boundaries for rights to an invention. In reality, they do no such thing. The very nature of inventions makes them impossible to describe unambiguously for all time. When something is so new that we do not understand yet how it works, what it is capable of doing, or how it could be applied -- as is often the case in biotechnology -- description is necessarily slippery. Instead of hoping for clear boundaries, and moaning when we don't get them, Rethinking Patent Law urges lawmakers to focus on what the law can do well: craft rules that anticipate the bargaining that will occur as rights unfold. By steering clear of laws that distort the bargaining process, lawmakers can help courts answer difficult questions, such as whether genes, software, and business methods constitute patentable subject matter, whether patents in the life sciences should control inventions that have yet to be discovered, and how to resolve the battles between pharmaceutical companies and generics. -- Book jacket.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Patent failure : how judges, bureaucrats, and lawyers put innovators at risk Bessen, James, 1958-; Meurer, Michael James.
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .B47 2008
Bessen, James, 1958-; Meurer, Michael James.
©2008
more...less...
Presenting a wide range of empirical evidence from history, law, and economics, this text is an authoritative and comprehensive look at the economic performance of patents. It asks whether patents work well as property rights, and, if not, what institutional and legal reforms are necessary to make the patent system more effective.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The patent crisis and how the courts can solve it
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .B87 2009
Burk, Dan L.; Lemley, Mark A., 1966-
2009
more...less...
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .B87 2009
Burk, Dan L.; Lemley, Mark A., 1966-
2009
"Patent law is crucial to encourage technological innovation. But as the patent system currently stands, diverse industries from pharmaceuticals to software to semiconductors are all governed by the same rules even though they innovate very differently. The result is a crisis in the patent system, where patents calibrated to the needs of prescription drugs wreak havoc on information technologies and vice versa. According to Dan L. Burk and Mark A. Lemley in The Patent Crisis and How the Courts Can Solve It, courts should use the tools the patent system already gives them to treat patents in different industries differently. Industry tailoring is the only way to provide an appropriate level of incentive for each industry. Burk and Lemley illustrate the barriers to innovation created by the catch-all standards in the current system. Legal tools already present in the patent statute, they contend, offer a solution -- courts can tailor patent law, through interpretations and applications, to suit the needs of various types of businesses. The Patent Crisis and How the Courts Can Solve It will be essential reading for those seeking to understand the nexus of economics, business, and law in the twenty-first century."--Jacket.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Patent trolls : predatory litigation and the smothering of innovation
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3155 .W38 2013
Watkins, William J., Jr., author.
2013
more...less...
Stiflers of innovation, patent trolls use overbroad patents based on dated technology to threaten litigation and bring infringement suits against inventors. Trolls, also known as nonpracticing entities (NPEs), typically do not produce products or services but are in the business of litigation. They lie in wait for someone to create a process or product that has some relationship to the patent held by the troll, and then they pounce with threats and lawsuits. The cost to the economy is staggering. In Patent Trolls: Predatory Litigation and the Smothering of Innovation, William J. Watkins, Jr., calls attention to this problem and the challenges it poses to maintaining a robust rate of technological progress. After describing recent trends and efforts to “tame the trolls,” Watkins focuses on ground zero in patent litigation—the Eastern District of Texas, where a combination of factors makes this the lawsuit venue of choice for strategically minded patent trolls. He also examines a more fundamental problem: an outmoded patent system that is wholly ill suited for the modern economy. Finally, he examines proposals for reforming the U.S. patent system, which was created to spur innovation but today is having the opposite effect. If legal reformers heed the analyses and proposals presented in this book, the prospects for crafting a legal environment that promotes innovation are favorable.

Historical resources

Below are books on trademark law that are outdated for modern law but provide historical context or serve as an excellent starting point for scholarly research on the topic.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The story of the United States Patent Office, with a special supplement, Patents in action.
United States. Patent Office.; Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association.
1965
Available, 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3095.Z9 U5 1965
Nonobviousness--the ultimate condition of patentability : papers compiled in commemoration of the silver anniversary of 35 USC 103
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114.A2 N66 1980
Witherspoon, John F.
c1980
A treatise on the law of patents for useful inventions, as enacted and administered in the United States of America.
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .C86 1867
Curtis, George Ticknor, 1812-1894.; United States.
1867; 3d ed., rev. and enl.
The law of patents and patent practice in the Patent Office and the federal courts, with rules and forms
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .H6 1911
Hopkins, James Love, 1868-1931.
1911
vol 1 & 2
The law of patents for useful inventions vol 1-3
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .R63 1890
Robinson, William C. (William Callyhan), 1834-1911.
1890
The law of patents for useful inventions. Robinson, William C. Vol. 1-3
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .R63 1971
Robinson, William C.
1971
vol. 1-3
Patent Law Fundamentals
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .R66 1975
Rosenberg, Peter D.
1975
A treatise on the law of patents for inventions. Vol 1 & 2
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3114 .W36 1929
Walker, Albert H. (Albert Henry), 1844-1915.; Lotsch, John L. (John Louis), 1881-
1929; 6th ed., rev. and enl. by John L Lotsch ...
The American patent system, an economic interpretation
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3116 .B4 1972
Bennett, William Batchelder.
1972, c1943
Patent and antitrust law; a legal and economic appraisal
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3116 .B68 1973
Bowman, Ward S. (Ward Simon), 1911-1991.
1973
The employed inventor in the United States: R & D policies, law and practice.
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3135 .N46 1971
Neumeyer, Fredrik, 1905-
1971
Patent licenses. Ellis, Ridsdale, 1886
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3145.E49 1958
Ellis, Ridsdale, 1886-1955.; Deller, Anthony William.
1958; 3d ed., by Anthony W. Deller.