IP Law: Trademarks

Davis, Theodore H., Jr. editor.; American Bar Association. Section of Intellectual Property Law. sponsoring body.
2020; Fourth edition.
Available , 2nd Floor ; KF3193 .L44 2020
"Many aspects of practice before the U.S. Trademark Trial and Appeal Board remain the same since the last edition of this monograph in 2016, others have changed significantly. This edition is updated to reflect the changes"-- Provided by publisher.

Available, 3rd Floor Stacks; KF3181 .S65 1991
Smith, Phillip H., 1936-
c1992
In this exhaustive and practical guide, the author guides you through the ITU process, including: -- initial client consultation on development and marketing issues -- all clearance and registration procedures -- opposition -- protection of rights under ITU law Comprehensive coverage includes interpretation of good faith, guidance for drafting applications, insights on foreign applicant issues, and more. In addition, you also get 24 practice forms along with practice guides, checklists, sample form letters, and questionnaires. --Publisher

Available, 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF3180 .J26 2017
"This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity."-- Provided by publisher.

Available, 3rd Floor Stacks; KF3180 .J26 2013
Janis, Mark D.
2013
"This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity." -- Publisher.

Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3180.Z9 F72 1994
Pirkey, Louis T., 1937-; American Bar Association. Forum Committee on Franchising.
c1994
Marks are the foundation of any franchise system. The success of the franchisor, the franchisees, and the entire franchise system may rise or fall based on the selling power of the franchise's marks and the legal protection for the marks. --Taken from the introduction by William G. Barber

Available , 1st Floor Access to Justice Collection ; KF3180.Z9 E43 2022
Fishman, Stephen, author.; Portman, Janet, editor.
2022; 13th edition / editor, Janet Portman.
"A business name, the names of key products, logos, packaging, and slogans all can function as trademarks that distinguish a business and its services and products. This book has information on how to select and protect a great trademark and how to register and maintain a trademark with the federal government. The reader will learn how to choose a trademark that distinguishes their business from competitors, search for marks that might conflict with their own, register a mark with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, protect marks from unauthorized use by others, resolve trademark disputes outside the courtroom, and create an Internet presence and secure a domain name"-- Provided by the publisher.

Available , 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF3180 .L34 2020
LaFrance, Mary, 1958- author.
2020; Fourth edition.


"This treatise is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to the law of trademarks and unfair competition. It provides a thorough introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress. Coverage includes the standards and procedures for obtaining federal registration, the rights and remedies available to owners of both registered and common law marks under federal and state law, and the full array of applicable defenses"-- Provided by publisher.

Available, 1st Floor Permanent Reserves ; KF3180.Z9 W48 2021
Davis, Theodore H., Jr. author.; Erstling, Jay A., author.; American Bar Association. Section of Intellectual Property Law. issuing body.
2021; Fourth edition.

Brief overview of trademarks covers the nature of a mark and types of marks; registration; violation of rights; remedies for violation; and more.--Publisher

Available, 3rd Floor Stacks; KF3180.Z9 W45 1991
Weinstein, David A., 1942-
c1991

The names, symbols and logos used by businesses and professionals can be extremely valuable assets. In fact, substantial time and money is spent to develop and promote them. Individuals in small businesses, multinational corporations, and nonprofit and fraternal organizations are shown how to protect business and professional names and symbols. It sets forth the fundamentals of protecting business and professional names, showing you how to select, acquire rights, and register names and enforce protection--even how to allow others to use them. Also discusses steps to avoid conflicts when others use your name. Explains the difference between corporate and trade names, and among trademarks, service marks and other types of marks. The procedures for checking names for potential conflicts are described, and directions for registration with state agencies and the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office are provided. Everything is explained in clear, easy language, and many sample forms and documents are included. --Publisher

Pinckney, Francis M., author.; Higgins, David R., 1976- author.
2017; Fourth edition.
Available , 3rd Floor Stacks ; KF3178.2 .P56 2017

"The new Fourth Edition of this essential trademark resource guides practitioners through the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board's (TTAB) and the federal courts' findings on similarity of products for trademark registration and enforcement. Trademark practitioners who are investigating similarity or dissimilarity of goods at issue can determine, quickly and easily, whether there are any decided cases that have compared with other products the products under consideration by the user, and can find citations for all such cases. The book compiles and indexes 88 years of TTAB and federal court decisions on product comparisons and whether likelihood of confusion was found, and allows practitioners to search the book's entire contents electronically on an accompanying CD-ROM. To help practitioners conduct the most complete and efficient search possible of similar products, the authors have analyzed the findings of the courts and/or the Board in order to impose editorial uniformity on the descriptions of products listed in the cases and have assigned U.S. Class numbers to each product. The Fourth Edition covers TTAB proceedings and court decisions from 1929 through December 2016, and contains more than 90,000 product comparisons, including approximately 1500 comparisons from 2016 alone. The Fourth Edition has been extensively reviewed to refine and reorganize the descriptions and reduce duplicate entries to make it the most complete and effective reference possible. It also includes citations for every comparison, making it easy to find decisions on the Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) website or in Bloomberg BNA's U.S. Patents Quarterly"-- Provided by publisher.