Call Number: KF750.Z9 R36 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
Most people don't realize that most of their property WON'T pass through their wills. This book helps estate planners make sure assets go to the right people. Almost anyone can benefit from this book: anybody with a bank account, retirements account or real estate can use the probate avoidance methods in this book. No other inexpensive, plain-English book helps readers better understand and pick the probate-avoidance methods that suit them best.
This book explains the contract drafting process in terms of content and style, demonstrating through authentic examples how to revise template documents to produce effective and complete contracts that protect the client's interests. [This book also explains] negotiating and drafting indemnification provisions, even in low leverage situations. It...explains how to prevent ambiguity in contracts by using better words, developing a consistent strategy for expressing key concepts, crafting strong sentences, and organizing content properly.
Call Number: KF9619.85 .B47 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
This book demystifies the complex rules and procedures of criminal law. It explains how the system works, why police, lawyers, and judges do what they do, and what suspects, defendants, and prisoners can expect. It also provides critical information on working with a lawyer.
Call Number: KF524 .W66 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
All the information you need to split your assets, easily and fairly. Major financial decisions are often overwhelming, but they can feel downright impossible when you're in the midst of a divorce. Turn to Divorce & Money, the acclaimed guide that translates complex financial concepts into plain language to help you: create a cash flow statement using your income and expenses, uncover your spouse's financial information, determine the value of real estate, retirement accounts, and other assets, understand how child support and alimony are calculated, divide your property and debts fairly, negotiate a comprehensive settlement, achieve financial stability after divorce, and learn when and how to talk to a professional (attorney, tax adviser, or appraiser).
Call Number: KF750.Z9 C585 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
Covers the basics of estate planning, including wills, trusts, and health care directives. It prepares readers to start planning their estate, with or without an attorney. The 10th edition is updated with the latest laws and tax information.
Call Number: KF6495.H67 F57 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
Short-term rental hosts are entitled to many valuable deductions and other tax benefits. This book shows how to make the most out of a hosting business without risking problems with the IRS. Readers will learn everything they need to know about taxes, including: what deductions should be taken; how to report short-term rental income; how to deduct losses; and vacation home and tax-free rental rules.
Call Number: KF8769 .O54 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
You don't need a lawyer to succeed in small claims court if you know how to present your own case. Properly preparing for your day in court can make the difference between receiving a check and writing one. Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court provides the information, tips, and strategies you need to sue someone successfully or put up a winning defense in any state.
This handbook is the definitive guide to understanding Fourth Amendment case law. With summaries of all Supreme Court Fourth Amendment decisions through January 2019, the book is an excellent reference on the evolving history of the Fourth Amendment. This newly updated and revised chronological survey serves as a starting point for research, a quick means of review, or a checklist in court. The Handbook is an invaluable resource for any lawyer presented with an issue involving search and seizure.
Janet S. Kole provides another book in her series of best-selling short and helpful guides on litigation for young lawyers. In this latest, she explains how to find an expert, how to make sure your expert actually helps your client's case, how to prepare your expert for a deposition and for trial, and how to establish mutual respect with the expert. And, of course, the opening question and its ramifications: do you even need an expert?
The third edition of [this book] provides a meaningful introduction to legal research in Idaho. It begins with an overview of the legal research process and introductory chapters on planning a research strategy and executing online legal research in an ever expanding variety of sources. It then addresses primary law with chapters on constitutions, judicial opinions, statutes, and administrative law. Additional chapters cover bill tracking and legislative history, rules of court and professional ethics, citators (KeyCite and Shepard's), secondary sources, and the fundamentals of legal citation.
Call Number: KF2042.P45 D75 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
In The Law (in Plain English)® for Photographers, Leonard D. DuBoff and Sarah J. Tugman walk readers through the legal landscape of the photography business. In easy-to-understand terms and with plenty of examples, this comprehensive resource covers everything from organizing a business to privacy rights to copyright questions.
Call Number: KF3650 .M37 2020 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
Figure out how to get retirement, disability, dependents and survivors benefits, or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Decide whether it's best to claim benefits early, at full retirement age, or not until you turn 70--and how to time your claims so you and your spouse get the best benefits. Learn how to qualify for and enroll in both programs, including Medicare Part D drug coverage. Compare Medigap and Medicare Advantage plans, and choose what's best for you. Discover when and how to claim the benefits you have earned. What's New in 2019? End of donut hole for brand name prescription drugs ; new Medicare costs and Social Security amounts for 2019, and, new Medicare Advantage features and enrollment. Whether you're looking for yourself or helping a parent, you'll find valuable information here to help get the benefits you've earned.
Call Number: KF1449 .T72 2019 - First Floor Access to Justice Collection
"U.S. companies rely on the capital markets for a greater portion of their total funding, and on the debt capital markets for a greater portion of their credit financing, than do companies in Europe or Asia. In short, U.S. capital markets play a critical role in both the U.S. and global economy. Transparency is viewed as fundamental to the efficient functioning of these markets. Transparency, in the form of robust disclosures by public companies, helps to protect investors, ensure a level playing field, and promote better allocation of capital. Given the extensive disclosure requirements now applicable to public companies and the ever-increasing length of public company disclosures, some would argue that we are well past the point of information overload. On the other hand, others would note that enhanced disclosure on a broad array of topics improves corporate accountability. This book cover a variety of topics including: duty to disclose; fraud; filing requirements; disclosure categories; business operations; risk factors; compensation; and special circumstances and issues."
Call Number: KF1414 .C689 2020 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
Clear, succinct, descriptions of the reasoning and policy issues underlying corporate law that is accessible to law students with no business or economic background. The 2020 edition is thoroughly updated to include recent U.S. Supreme Court, Delaware and other leading decisions and regulatory developments (for example, the most recent version of the Model Business Corporation Act as well as the Delaware statute) that impact the conduct of corporate affairs including fiduciary obligations and duties in corporate transactions, governance, and management of corporations and LLCs, as well as benefit corporations, including the landscape of securities fraud suits in the federal courts, new discussions of unincorporated forms of business, insightful explanations of such news-making issues as corporate governance and director liabilities, and coverage of LLCs and LLPs.
Call Number: KF4550.Z9 .B35 2020 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases. Some of the highlights include Rucho v. Common Cause (2-10) where the Court held 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that partisan gerrymandering is a non-justiciable issue beyond the competence of the federal judiciary. In Department of Commerce v. New York (2019), although the Court ruled that the Enumeration Clause of the Constitution grants authority to Congress and "by extension" to the Secretary of Commerce to include a question about citizenship on the 2020 Census questionnaire, the Court could not approve it because the rationale presented to the Court was contrived and was based on a pretext. In Timbs v. Indiana (2019), the Court demonstrated that there still is vitality in the incorporation doctrine and held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is an "incorporated" protection applicable to the States under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
As ever, the free expression area is once again fertile ground for generating Supreme Court case law. In Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (2018), the Supreme Court, per Justice Alito, 5-4, reversed the 40 year old Abood v. Detroit Board of Education (1977) precedent and held that its ruling requiring non-union members of a public sector union to pay for the collective bargaining of the union is a violation of the First Amendment. In Matal v.Tam (2017), the Court unanimously held that a Lanham Act provision prohibiting the registration of trademarks that "disparage--or bring--into contempt or disrepute" any persons living or dead is a violation of the First Amendment. In the area of freedom of religion, the Court in Trump v. Hawaii (2018), held, 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that a Proclamation prohibiting or limiting the entry into the United States of nationals from seven countries with Muslim majorities did not violate the Establishment Clause. The Proclamation could reasonably be justified on grounds of national security rather than religious hostility. In American Legion v. American Humanist Association (2019), the Court held, 7-2, per Justice Alito, that the Bladensburg Peace Cross, erected in 1925 on public land in Maryland as a memorial to veterans of World War I did not constitute a violation of the Establishment Clause. Government action which removes monuments that have religious symbolism and that have long been on public land could be seen as "aggressively hostile to religion." Finally, in this edition, as in previous ones, the goal has been to present the essence of the Court's decisions in a concise, readable and understandable way.
Call Number: K891.B8 N54 2020 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
The book provides a basic introduction to the legal and financial issues that arise at each stage of a project finance transaction. It contains a comprehensive overview of the concept of project finance and includes extensive coverage of the overall legal structure and the key clauses in both project and finance documents. It also has chapters on project preparation, procurement, sources of finance, financial and credit support issues, restructuring, and investment dispute settlement.
Call Number: KNX68 .J66 2020 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
The Japanese Legal System in a Nutshell by Professors Colin P.A. Jones and Frank S. Ravitch provides a thorough and up-to-date overview of Japan's legal system and system of government. Focusing on practical aspects of the subject, it covers the law-making process, constitutional theory and reality, the civil, criminal and administrative justice systems, the environment of business law and regulation and the Japanese legal professions. Importantly, it also provides a context for understanding the Japanese legal system in readily comprehensible terms, including historical background and the different (compared to the United States and other common law systems) role and organization of the courts as part of an overall system of government.
Call Number: KF3369 .E884 2020 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
This treatise on labor law explains the analytical structure that governs how employees form workplace organizations and bargain over the terms and conditions of employment. It covers new forms of labor organizing, such as the corporate campaign, card check/neutrality agreements, and worker centers. It is designed to complement leading labor law casebooks with analysis of the principal decisions, context, and social justice policy. It reflects decisional and other developments through August 2019.
This book gives a thorough overview of Article 3 of the Uniform Commercial Code, commonly referred to as negotiable instruments or commercial paper [sec. 1-101(a) and 3-101], which contains the statutory framework that provides rules to facilitate the transfer of negotiable instruments and increase their acceptance in our commercial system
Call Number: KFO2475 .R69 2019 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
Chapters of this book are devoted to the sources, search techniques, and analysis of constitutional law, statutes, legislative history, administrative law, and cases. Additional chapters highlight the research process, with three comprehensive research strategies explained in the final chapter. To emphasize Oregon sources, all information about federal legal research has been compiled in a new appendix. Another appendix reviews current citation to legal sources under Oregon court rules, the ALWD Guide, and the Bluebook. The revised printing includes updated information and new images from Westlaw Edge
Call Number: KF1524 .F47 2019 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
The fourth edition of Understanding Bankruptcy continues to provide a detailed introduction to bankruptcy and related state and federal debtor-creditor law. It will be helpful for students taking an introductory Creditors' Rights course that emphasizes bankruptcy; a free-standing Bankruptcy course; or an advanced course in Chapter 11 Reorganization. This edition includes explanations of the growing number of Court of Appeals and Supreme Court decisions interpreting changes made to the Bankruptcy Code nearly fifteen years ago in the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005. Both new and experienced bankruptcy lawyers will find Understanding Bankruptcy helpful and insightful.
Call Number: KF2994 .L43 2019 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
The seventh edition of Understanding Copyright is a major revision of this classic student treatise. In addition to including the latest case law developments, this edition incorporates the Music Modernization Act of 2018. The seventh edition covers all aspects of the MMA, a dazzling legislative overhaul of the musical copyright, which among its other provisions, creates a new blanket license for digital deliveries and provides protection to pre-1972 sound recordings.
Call Number: KF4819 .U53 2019 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
The third edition of Understanding Immigration Law lays out the basics of U.S. immigration law in an accessible way to newcomers to the field. It offers background about the intellectual, historical, and constitutional foundations of U.S. immigration law. The book also identifies the factors that have historically fueled migration to the United States, including the economic "pull" of jobs and family in the United States and the "push" of economic hardship, political instability, and other facts of life in the sending country. Each chapter has been updated to analyze the unprecedented number of immigration enforcement measures and many simply unprecedented measures taken by the Trump administration, including but not limited to: - The various increased enforcement measures, including expanded detention (and the end of catch-and-release ), workplace raids, and restoration of Secure Communities (which the Obama administration had dismantled); - The zero tolerance policy directed at Central American asylum seekers, including the policy to separate minors from parents in immigration detention centers; - The Muslim or travel ban upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court; - The end of Temporary Protected Status for Salvadorans, Hondurans, Nicaraguans, Haitians, and nationals of several other countries; - The attempt to rescind the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) policy adopted by the Obama administration; and - The efforts to discourage state and local sanctuary policies that limit state and local cooperation with federal immigration enforcement efforts. The chapters further update the various chapters with Supreme Court immigration decisions, including the Court s decision invalidating a removal ground on due process grounds (Sessions v. Dimaya (2018)) and invalidating a derivative citizenship rule for violating Equal Protection (Sessions v. Morales-Santana (2017)).
Call Number: KF915.Z9 B74 2019 - First Floor Permanent Reserves
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course