Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Abbreviations

Outlines the basic structure of legal citations, including cases law, statutes, and administrative rules and regulations.

Abbreviations for Regulations

C.F.R.

Code of Federal Regulations

Administrative code for the federal government.  It contains rules and regulations promulgated by federal agencies.  It contains 50 titles and is published annually.

Fed. Reg.

Federal Register

Administrative register for the federal government.  It contains notices, proposed rules, interim rules, and final rules proposed and promulgated by federal agencies.  It is published each Monday-Friday, excluding holidays. 

W.A.C.

Washington Administrative Code

Administrative code for Washington.  It contains final state agency rules and regulations promulgated by state agencies in Washington. 

Wash. Reg.

Washington State Register

Administrative register for Washington.  It contains notices, pre-proposed rules, proposed rules, interim rules, and final rules proposed and promulgated by state agencies in Washington.  It is published every two weeks. 

Abbreviations for Selective Secondary Sources

Am. Jur.
Am. Jur. 2d

American Jurisprudence

Legal encyclopedia published by West.

A.L.R.
A.L.R.2d
A.L.R.3d
A.L.R.4th
A.L.R.5th
A.L.R.6th A.L.R.7th
A.L.R. Fed. A.L.R. Fed. 2d

American Law Reports

Provides in-depth coverage of legal topics; each ALR Annotation provides case citations and cross references; printed in nine series. Published by West. 

C.J. 

C.J.S.

Corpus Juris

Corpus Juris Secundum

Legal encyclopedia published by West.

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility