New Titles in the Chastek Library

"Through compelling examples from business, economics, literature, art, fashion, and beyond, Anointed demonstrates how status cascades through society, creating winners and losers in ways that often have little to do with merit. And how new technology offers a glimpse of a more equitable future." -- Publisher site.

"The third edition of Expert Learning for Law Students is a reorganization and rethinking of this highly regarded law school success text. It retains the core insights and lessons from prior editions while updating the materials to reflect recent insights such as mindset theory, attribution theory, chunking for use, and interleaving learning. The text includes exercises and step-by-step guides to engage readers in the process of becoming expert learners―including specific strategies for succeeding in law school." -- Publisher site.

"This edited volume endeavours to encourage discussions for developing a conceptual understanding of the Agreement on Fisheries Subsidies under the framework of the World Trade Organization (WTO). The book at the onset establishes the link between subsidies and law relating to the World Trade Organization. This is to ensure that even a reader with a little or no understanding of the underlying concepts is able to grasp the arguments presented in a substantial manner." -- Publisher site.

"The combination of text, translation, and commentary makes the speeches accessible to readers with little or no knowledge of classical Greek as well as more advanced students. No familiarity with Athenian law is assumed, but the book will also be useful to specialists seeking a deeper understanding of Isaeus’s work." -- Publisher site.

"The thoughts that led to the writing of International Law Changes in the Light of the Invasion of Ukraine were crystallized in 2014, when Russia occupied Crimea and little was done in response. The UNSC was unable to act because Russia's Permanent Representative to the UN would veto - and did veto - any proposals for resolutions of the UNSC on this matter. Of course, the USSR had a history of invading its neighbors - most recently Afghanistan in 1979. When Russia invaded Ukraine in 2022, it was clear that a further publication had to be presented. Given the gravity of the situation concerning the stasis of the UN Charter, the author hopes that the need for modifications to it is taken as seriously as the current circumstances merit. This book may provide impetus to begin the process of appropriate change." -- Publisher site.

"Through case studies and conceptual frameworks, the book explores a largely uncharted world of IO evolution in which the international secretariats contribute importantly to adapting the role of the IGO. The volume brings to light the mechanisms used by IOs to adapt to what were, on each occasion, new challenges to their efforts to assist and respond to unprecedented needs of members faced with contemporary realities." -- Publisher site.

"This book focuses on political legitimacy at the international level, more specifically in international law. It addresses questions such as: How does international law build a sense of legitimacy? How does it maintain it? How does it lose it? What could be done to make international law more legitimate?" -- Publisher site.

"Adopting an interdisciplinary approach that integrates international relations, international law, and history, this book provides a comprehensive examination of the Arctic's legal and geopolitical complexities. The book will be of interest to researchers in the field of international relations and public international law, as well as environmental and Arctic law." -- Publisher site.

"While maritime law and law of the sea are highly-researched domains of law, there are few studies about the language associated with these fields. In a global society that is increasingly impacted by environmental, health, social, humanitarian, and political crises that partly unfold on the sea, this volume unites legal scholars and linguists who work on the language of these fields. The book includes chapters that focus on macro levels of linguistic analyses (e.g., discourse and genre analysis) and micro levels (e.g., terminology) as well as translation. Several languages for maritime legal purposes are studied, including English, French, and Chinese." -- Publisher site.

"This book is the first treatise in English to present an overall functional necessity approach to the study of the legal position of intergovernmental organizations, particularly their legal status (personality/capacity/powers) and immunities." -- Publisher site.

"My Fight for Canadian Healthcare is Dr. Day’s personal journey through a failing healthcare system that has deviated far from its intended purpose, ensnaring patients in long cycles of waiting and suffering. It lays bare the incongruity of Canadian governments holding fast to principles established six decades ago in the face of mounting evidence of patient harm. This book makes a powerful case for a complete rethink of how we deliver healthcare in the twenty-first century." -- Publisher site.

"Veteran journalist E. Jean Carroll reclaims her story in this irreverent, defiant memoir of having her private life laid bare while the world watched during her contentious and highly publicized court trials. You may have heard about the tantrums, the seething, and the storming out of court. But what about her side of the sexual assault and defamation cases against US president Donald J. Trump? It's all here: two dazzling trials, the full-tilt high stakes, the laugh-out-loud commentary, and the inspiring fact that a woman is never too old to get even." -- Publisher site.

"Helmed by four pioneering experts, two in CRT and two in international law, the volume's approach will target regimes of power and violence that implicate racism, capitalism, and colonialism. This volume lays the groundwork for urgent and provocative new modes of critique and analysis." -- Publisher site.

"This handbook serves as a vital resource for understanding how justice, security, and sustainability shape Arctic governance. It will be of interest to scholars and students of global governance, security studies, environmental studies, and geopolitics, offering insights into the region’s pressing social, environmental, and geopolitical issues." -- Publisher site.

"This work serves as a valuable guide for researchers and practitioners interested in leveraging AI technologies to enhance security intelligence. Legal professionals, security practitioners, and policy makers gain insight from contributions from leading scholars in the field of security intelligence and AI applications." -- Publisher site.

" Student Belonging in Higher Education is a must-read for all those interested and invested in the topic of student belonging. It offers evidence-based critical reflections and recommendations for those implementing, exploring and researching student belonging initiatives to create more inclusive, supportive, and thriving academic communities." -- Publisher site.

"Test, Measure, Punish offers a new theory of schooling inequality that provides scholars, students, and the broader interested public with a deeper understanding of why state-led school reforms represent a new level of racialized citizenship in 21st century public education." -- Publisher site.

"The Unseen History expands and revises our understanding not only of IBP, but also of the academic discipline and lived practice of modern international law over the last four centuries. In addition to delving into the first nine editions' printing history, descriptive bibliography, and both Grotius' and the publishers' marketing and donation strategies, the book explores Grotius' subsequent impact on pro-slavery and abolitionist litigation as a case study of how the census' original findings can be applied to specific areas of reception." -- Book flap.

" This concise volume is organized around 10 claims that proponents of speech restrictions regularly assert, such as: 'words are violence,' 'free speech is right-wing," and 'hate speech isn't free speech.' In lively, clear, and persuasive prose, the authors examine the flaws in these pro-censorship assertions. The book also includes an insightful introduction by Jacob Mchangama, shedding additional light on the topic from historical and international perspectives." -- Publisher site.

"On the 25th anniversary of the Scottish Parliament, this book captures an important moment in contemporary history: how a grassroots women's movement, harking back to the suffragettes and second wave feminists of the 1970s and 1980s, took on the political establishment - and changed the course of history. Through a collection of over 30 essays and photographs, some of the women involved tell the story of the five-year campaign to protect women's sex-based rights. It is the story of women who risked their job, reputation, even the bonds of family and friendship, to make their voices heard, and ended up - unexpectedly - contributing to the downfall of Nicola Sturgeon, Scotland's first woman first minister. Above all, it is the story of the women who wouldn't wheesht!" -- Publisher site.

"Wine in America: Law and Policy, Second Edition, by Richard P. Mendelson deftly explains the federal, state, and local laws that govern wine production, taxation, labeling, advertising, marketing, distribution, and sales. The book explores the historical underpinnings of wine law, including Prohibition, tied house and trade practices, public health concerns, and Twenty-First Amendment jurisprudence as well as addressing intellectual property issues involving wine brands and appellations of origin, land use laws affecting rural wineries and urban bars, and international trade." -- Publisher site.