Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chastek Library Information

Information related to Chastek Library and its services.

For Attorneys


COVID-19 Update: Per COVID-19 policies, attorneys are currently not allowed entrance to Chastek Library.

Affiliated attorneys may have limited access beginning August 23, 2021 but must contact Director Pat Charles | charles@gonzaga.edu or 509.313.3739 for approval. This is subject to change.

If you wish to become an affiliated attorney to Chastek Library, please fill out the form below and follow the instructions for return.

LIBRARY SERVICES FOR ALUMNI AND BAR MEMBERS

AFFILIATE ACCESS CARDS

Area attorneys who would like after-hours and weekend access may request an Affiliate Access Card (AAC) by filling out the request form at the circulation desk, or by downloading and emailing the form below. Once the request form is filled out, a GU ID number will be created in the Registrar's office. Card Services requires an Affiliate Form to be completed and signed by either the Library Director or the Head of Public Services Librarian. Once the form is completed, the requestor will come pick it up from the circulation desk, and, with a valid photo ID, go to Card Services in Crosby Center, Suite 001.

New process in the works: Upon creation of the GU ID number, an email will be sent to the requestor to submit an approved picture for their ID card, as well as a copy of their government issued ID to Campus Card Services. Until this process is completed, AAC cards will not be issued. We appreciate your patience and understanding. Please continue to send AAC applications to the specific email address on the form while we work to get this new system up and running. There is no timeline on when these will be processed but you will be contacted once we transition systems.

This card will allow the holder access to the library after 6pm until closing, Monday - Thursday, and on weekends during law school community hours. Without the affiliate card, attorneys are held to the public patron access policy, found here.

This process may take several days from start to finish. We are not currently processing AAC applications due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Please email the Public Services Librarian, Sharalyn Williams, at williamsS2@gonzaga.edu for the current application for the Attorney Affiliate Access Card.

BORROWING PRIVILEGES

General Public : Public patrons do not have borrowing privileges.

Attorneys : Gonzaga Law alumni, members of a state bar association, and local judges have borrowing privileges for Chastek Library materials only. To utilize borrowing privileges, please request an AAC (see above). Cards are free.

**Foley Library materials: The undergraduate Foley Library will allow you to borrow materials once a Foley Community Card is purchased for $35. Additional information for Foley policies can be found here.

LEGAL RESEARCH

Attorneys without affiliate access cards (AAC) are welcome to use legal materials during the hours found here under General Public Hours. AAC holders have extended research hours. Professional research assistance is available Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Limited reference assistance is available at other times. Please note that the library staff cannot give legal advice.

  • Primo – Library’s catalog is available to everyone.
  • Nolo’s Legal Encyclopedia – Thousands of free legal articles and other materials.
  • People’s Law Dictionary – Search the dictionary by word, phrase or legal term.
  • WEX – Collaboratively-edited legal dictionary and encyclopedia from Cornell Law School. Intended for law novices, including law students and lawyers entering new areas of law.
  • Research Guides – Collection of guides developed by Chastek librarians to assist patrons in their legal research using our collection; includes links to other research guide sources.
  • LexisNexis Academic – Sub-set of the full LexisNexis database. Limited public availability on computers in the library. U.S. federal & state case law, statutes, and regulations, Shepard’s Citations, and full-text coverage of over 6,000 titles in news, business, medical, and legal publications.
  • Other Legal Databases – Due to licensing agreements, subscription databases can only be accessed from inside the library. Some databases are not available to attorneys and the public. Documents or materials retrieved from computers inside the library can be printed or e-mailed.

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility