Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Indian Law

American Indian Law research is complex and challenging. This guide covers U.S. statutues, tribal codes, case law, and secondary sources.

Other Resources


  • Native American Legal Materials Collection. (KF8201.A1 N3 – Microfiche Collection, Second Floor & partially digitized through LLMC-Digital)

The Native American Legal Materials microfiche collection is an historical collection of laws, treaties, and law-related materials pertaining to Native Americans (American Indians, Eskimo, and Native Hawaiians). The 1,668 titles are individually listed in the library’s catalog and can be located using title, keywords, or subjects. Another finding aid to the collection is the bibliography listed below.

  • Native American Collection : A Bibliography Describing the Microfiche Collection Assembled and Marketed by the Law Library Microform Consortium (Jerry Dupont ed. 1990). (KF8201.A1 D86 1990 – Third Floor).

 Finding aid to the Native American Legal Materials Collection listed above.

v. 1: Laws, compiled to December 1, 1902
v. 2: Treaties
v. 3: Laws, compiled to December 1, 1913
v. 4: Laws, compiled to March 4, 1927
v. 5: Laws, compiled from December 22, 1927, to June 29, 1938.
v. 6: Law, compiled from February 10, 1939, to January 13, 1971, Part 1
v. 7: Law, compiled from February 10, 1939, to January 13, 1971, Part II

Related Digital Resource

Includes an archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.

Includes American Indian Constitutions, legal materials and other resources concerning Native Americans' civil and political rights.

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility