Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Research While in Florence

This guide explains services available to students participating in the law school's Gonzaga-in-Florence program.

Databases


Best Starting Points

Foreign Law Guide: this database provides information about the legal systems of about 190 jurisdicitons around the world with citations and links to legal sources. It's the best place to begin researching the laws of foreign countries.

American Society of International Law: Useful research tools avaible on this internet site include guides to electronic resources for internatiaona law and essays on current international law topics. Some linkes to important international law documents.

GlobaLex: International, comparative, and foreign law research guides organzied by country and by subject.

Guide to Law Online: This project of the Law Library of Congress is an annotated guide with links to sources of information worldwide on government and law.

LLRX Internation/Foreign Resource Page: includes research guides and links to international law journals on the web.

World Legal Information Institute: includes access to case law, legislation, treaties, reports, and law journals from around the world.

World Constitutions Illustrated: includes scanned copies of every world constitution, originals and translations, along with commental and constitutaional scholarhip. From HeinOnline.

You can continue using the library's subscription databases while in Florence. If you encounter any issue accessing a database, email Sharalyn Williams or Patrick Charles right away.

Need to find a law review article? Use an index, and HeinOnline's law journal library:

Westlaw Edge and Lexis+  have selective foreign law materials.

  • Westlaw Edge - from the Browse menu, select International Materials
  • Lexis+ - Browse >> Topics >> International Law

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility