Skip to main content

Abbreviations for Statutes, Regulations & Selective Secondary Sources

Abbreviations for Statutes, Regulations & Selective Secondary Sources

Abbreviations for Regulations

C.F.R.

Code of Federal Regulations

Administrative code for the federal government.  It contains rules and regulations promulgated by federal agencies.  It contains 50 titles and is published annually.

Fed. Reg.

Federal Register

Administrative register for the federal government.  It contains notices, proposed rules, interim rules, and final rules proposed and promulgated by federal agencies.  It is published each Monday-Friday, excluding holidays. 

W.A.C.

Washington Administrative Code

Administrative code for Washington.  It contains final state agency rules and regulations promulgated by state agencies in Washington. 

Wash. Reg.

Washington State Register

Administrative register for Washington.  It contains notices, pre-proposed rules, proposed rules, interim rules, and final rules proposed and promulgated by state agencies in Washington.  It is published every two weeks. 

Abbreviations for Selective Secondary Sources

Am. Jur.
Am. Jur. 2d

American Jurisprudence

Legal encyclopedia published by West.

A.L.R.
A.L.R.2d
A.L.R.3d
A.L.R.4th
A.L.R.5th
A.L.R.6th
A.L.R. Fed.

A.L.R. Fed. 2d

American Law Reports

Provides in-depth coverage of legal topics; each ALR Annotation provides case citations and cross references; printed in eight series. 

C.J.

C.J.S.

Corpus Juris

Corpus Juris Secundum

Legal encyclopedia published by West.

Abbreviations for Statutes

P.L.

Public Law

Official slip laws passed by Congress.

Stat.

Statutes at Large

Official session law publication containing laws passed by Congress

U.S.C.

United States Code

Official unannotated statutory code for federal statutes.  It contains 51 titles and is published every six years.   

U.S.C.A.

United States Code Annotated

Annotated statutory code for federal statutes published by West.     

U.S.C.S.

United States Code Service

Annotated statutory code for federal statutes published by LexisNexis.     

Wash. Laws

Laws of Washington

Official session law publication containing laws passed by the Washington Legislature.

R.C.W.

Revised Code of Washington

Official unannotated statutory code for Washington.  It is published every two years.   

R.C.W.A.

Revised Code of Washington Annotated

Annotated statutory code for Washington published by West.     

A.R.C.W.

Annotated Revised Code of Washington

Annotated statutory code for Washington published by LexisNexis.     

Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758

Accessibility