Skip to main content
The Big Three Legal Research Databases
Bloomberg Law is an online subscription database that contains primary and secondary legal materials. Bloomberg Law is good for state and federal court docket information and filings. These types of documents are available on Bloomberg Law in PDF format.
Lexis Advance is an online subscription database that contains primary and secondary legal materials. Lexis Advance has some documents in PDF format, including some federal and state court opinions.
Westlaw is an online subscription database that contains primary and secondary legal materials.
Westlaw contains court opinions in PDF format. If it is publishing in the West National Reporter System (Regional Reporters and Federal Reporters) then you can get it in PDF format on Westlaw.
Library of Congress Call Number
Tips for Cite Checking and Citation Format
Finding Aids, Reference Sources & Citation Aids – Bring some of these with you to the presentation
- Mary Miles Prince, Prince’s Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations, 7th edition – KF 246 .B46 2017 – Reference
- Mary Miles Prince, Prince’s Dictionary of Legal Citations, 9th edition – KF 246 .P73 2017 – Reference
- Linda J. Barris, Understanding and Mastering The Bluebook, 3rd edition – KF 245 .B37 2015 – Reserve
- Dionne E. Anthon, The Bluebook Uncovered: A Practical Guide to Mastering Legal Citation – KF 245 .A58 2015 – Reserve
- Igor Kavass & Mary Miles Prince, World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations – K89 .K38 1991 – Greenan Reading Room
- Larry Teply, Legal Writing Citation in a Nutshell, 2nd edition – KF 245 .T47 2016 – Reserve
- Penny A. Hazelton, Specialized Legal Research – KF 240 .S692 – Reference
- Mary Whisner, Fundamentals of Legal Research, 10th edition – KF 240 .J3 2015 – Reserve
Citation Issues – Bluebook 20th edition
- Trick – Look up the document on HeinOnline, Westlaw, or Lexis Advance and see how some prominent law reviews or legal periodicals have cited it. You might get very different results because the Bluebook has some leeway where it is a judgment call on how to cite something.
Chastek Library, Gonzaga University School of Law | 721 N. Cincinnati St. Spokane, WA 99220-3528 | 509.313.3758